These types of projects provide or improve access to services/resources at household, community or institutional level, these include:

  • Renewable energy connected to mini-grid or off grid solutions: Including solar, tidal/wave, wind, hydropower, geothermal, waste to energy and renewable biomass.
  • End-use energy efficiency:Project activities that reduce energy requirements as compared to baseline scenario without affecting the level and quality of services or products e.g. efficient cooking, heating, lighting, etc.
  • Waste management + handling:  All waste management activities that deliver energy or a usable product with sustainable development benefits such as composting, biogas etc.
  • Water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH): WASH activities contributing to climate change mitigation and/or adaptation benefits.

For more details on: 


Gold Standard Renewable Energy Projects must supply energy to a national or a regional gridfrom non-fossil and renewable energy sources such as photovoltaic, tidal/wave, wind, hydro, geothermal, waste to energy and renewable biomass. 

Additional eligibility criteria are prescribed for specific project types including hydropower and projects using biomass resources. 

For more details on: 


No Deforestation: The planting area or the project area cannot meet the definition of a forest (as defined by the Designated National Authority) at project start date and shall not have been forest for at least 10 years prior to the project start.

Projects can include/apply:  

  • Planting trees (also shrubs, palms, and bamboo)
  • Single-species plantations
  • All silvicultural systems for example: Conservation forests (no use of timber), forests with selective harvesting and rotation forestry
  • Agriculture (agroforestry) or pasture (silvopasture) activities.

A project area cannot be on wetlands (but projects in mangroves are eligible). They cannot result in drainage or irrigation of areas with organic soils. And soil disturbance on organic soils shall be less than 10% of the area that is submitted for certification (not 10% of the entire project area).

For more details on: